Search This Blog

Wednesday, June 5, 2013

Prizes awarded at Osgoode Society Annual General meeting

The Osgoode Society Annual General Meeting was held yesterday at Osgoode Hall. A large number of members and guests were on hand to hear editor-in-chief Jim Phillips report on the society's operations, approve minutes and the financial report, to hear society president R.Roy McMurtry's fascinating remarks on his soon to be published memoirs (this year's Osgoode Society members' book), and to congratulate this year's prize winners.

Three awards were presented: the Peter Oliver Prize for best published student work in the previous year, the R. Roy McMurtry Fellowship for graduate students or junior scholars researching important subjects in legal history, and the Jack Saywell Prize for the best book on constitutional legal history published in the last two years.

The winners are as follows:

Peter Oliver prize (co-winners): Susan McKelvey, currently a J.D. student at Queen's University for an article based on work done as an undergraduate at York University, and David Steeves, a lawyer at Legge & Legge in Toronto, for an article based on work done as a graduate student at Dalhousie University Law School (as it then was known.)

There were also co-winners of the McMurtry Fellowship--Joseph Dunlop, currently a post-doc at Emmanuel College, University of Toronto, and Ed Cavanagh, a doctoral student at the University of Ottawa.

The Saywell Prize was awarded to Dr. Michael Cross, professor emeritus of history at Dalhousie University, for his biography of Robert Baldwin, "The Morning Star of Memory," published in 2012 by Oxford University Press.

Our congratulations to all winners!

No comments:

Post a Comment