Search This Blog

Wednesday, May 30, 2018

Osgoode Society award winners announced!

Congratulations to this years' award winners!

The Osgoode Society awards two prizes every year, and one every other year. Each award is decided on by a committee consisting of Jim Phillips and two others, mostly, though not entirely, Osgoode Society Directors. We would like to thank all those who helped make the various selections for 2018. Our award winners will be formally announced, and the awards presented, at the Annual Meeting. 

The Peter Oliver Prize, given for published work in Canadian legal history by a student, goes to David Sandomierski for his article ‘Tension and Reconciliation in Canadian Contract Law Casebooks,’ in (2017) 54 Osgoode Hall Law Journal 1181.

 The Hon. R. Roy McMurtry Fellowship in Canadian Legal History attracted a strong field of candidates, and the committee chose two co-winners. One co-winner is Chandra Murdoch, a PhD student in the History Department at the University of Toronto, who is working on the application of the first Indian Act (1876) in Ontario. The other co-winner is Daniel Murchison, a PhD student in the History Department at York University, who is working on the effects of legal change on land-holding and family structure among the indigenous peoples of the Red River valley. 

The John T. Saywell Prize in Canadian Constitutional Legal History has been awarded to Peter Russell, Professor Emeritus of Political Science at the University of Toronto, for his 2017 book, Canada’s Odyssey: A Country Based on Incomplete Conquests. The book is a wonderfully readable constitutional history of Canada, written by this country’s foremost political scientist/historian of our constitution.

No comments:

Post a Comment