Search This Blog

Thursday, April 7, 2022

Apply for the John T. Saywell Prize for best recent book on the history of the Canadian Constitution or Canadian federalism!

John T. Saywell Prize for Canadian Constitutional Legal History The Osgoode Society for Canadian Legal History administers the Saywell Prize. The Prize was established by the generosity of the family and friends of the late Professor John T. (Jack) Saywell, to recognise the outstanding contribution to Canadian political and legal history of Professor Saywell. Among his other work Professor Saywell was the author of The Law Makers: Judicial Power and The Shaping of Canadian Federalism, published by the Osgoode Society in 2002. The Saywell Prize is given bi-annually to the best new book in Canadian legal history, broadly defined, that makes an important contribution to an understanding of the constitution and/or federalism. In exceptional circumstances, the jury could also consider a seminal article or series of articles, some of the latter not written in the two-year period, to satisfy the objectives of the award. The Saywell Prize may be awarded in 2022, for a book published in 2020 or 2021. The deadline for nominations is May 15, 2022. Please email nominations to

No comments:

Post a Comment